Virginia Beach Area DUI Attorney
Driving under the influence (DUI) is an offense the state of Virginia takes very seriously. In Virginia, as in all states, any driver whose blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08 percent or higher can be charged with DUI. This charge carries serious consequences for those convicted.
If you or a loved one has been arrested on suspicion of DUI in the surrounding Virginia Beach area, you need an attorney experienced in these cases. At Chesapeake's Shannon & Bedois, P.C., I understand how the state and local courts handle DUI cases—and I know how to fight to ensure you receive a fair outcome.
Virginia Beach DUI
A BAC of .08 percent is not always necessary to be charged with drunk driving. Virginia law allows police to charge a driver with DUI if the police determine that the driver is operating the vehicle unsafely and suspect that he or she may have been drinking. This is referred to as per se laws, and can lead to a DUI conviction.
Even first-time offenders are subject to severe penalties if found guilty of driving under the influence. Virginia considers this a Class 1 misdemeanor, and punishment may include—
- A fine of up to $2,500
- A jail sentence of up to one year
- One-year suspension of drivers license
- Participation in an alcohol education program
Each subsequent DUI conviction carries additional and more severe penalties. For futher information, recent changes have been made in Virginia's DUI laws and our Virginia Beach drunk driving lawyers Kristen M. Shannon and Erin Bedois have the details.
Contact Shannon & Bedois, P.C.
The DUI attorney in Virginia Beach you choose to represent you plays a vital role in the outcome of your case. I strive to provide all clients with the level of representation I would expect if I were in their shoes in the surrounding Virginia Beach area. Contact a DUI lawyer today for a free initial consultation regarding your DUI or criminal defense case.